Read in Catalan

Fallout continues from the decision last week to block Catalan MEPs-elect Carles Puigdemont and Toni Comín from collecting their accreditation in the European Parliament. That decision was reportedly taken by the Parliament's president, Antonio Tajani, and its secretary-general, Klaus Welle, without consulting the Bureau. Now, some of the 14 vice-presidents of the Parliament, who are all members of the Bureau, have started calling publicly for Tajani to explain what happened.

The first vice-president to speak out today was the Czech Pavel Telička (ALDE). He announced that he has written to Tajani to ask him about the decision-making process leading to Puigdemont and Comín being blocked from collecting their accreditation last week.

Next was Sylvie Guillaume (S&D) from France, who confirmed that the Parliament's Bureau wasn't involved in the decision and said she would also like the president to clarify what happened.

The latest to speak out is Zdzisław Krasnodębski (ECR) from Poland, who sent an email to colleagues stating simply: "I also confirm that I was not involved in the decision process".

After the initial controversy, the Parliament suspended the temporary accreditation of all Spain's MEPs, saying they were awaiting the final, formal list of those elected from Madrid. That hasn't stopped PP's Esteban González Pons, however, from today being re-elected one of the EPP's vice-chairs. His fellow MEP Dolors Montserrat celebrated the news on Twitter:

Translation: Spain continues to gain influence and importance in Europe. Today, González Pons has been reelected vice-chair of the EPP group. Great news for all Spaniards and the great family of the PP. Congratulations Esteban!